What are my chances? Looking for support and compassion

you_are_worthy

Hi all,

Twelve days ago, I (33yo male) took 150mg + 60mg MDMA in a therapeutic setting. Over the next couple days, I started to notice increased light sensitivity, visual snow, afterimages, and shimmering of fine patters. Reading is more difficult, and I have started to develop symptoms of panic. This was my first experience with MDMA and HPPD symptoms. I have smoked weed twice in my life and took a small dose of psilocybin truffles once, and neither time had symptoms.

What do you think my chances of recovery are? I know there's no straight answer but you all seem to have some experience. Looking for support, compassion, and any advice you'd like to give. I plan to abstain from all drugs indefinitely. 

Thanks, sending good vibes to you all 🙏

Edited by you_are_worthy

Twelve days isn't much time.  You may just be experiencing the remnants of your recent experience.  I'm not a doctor or a medical professional.  That being said, in my opinion, you're going to be fine because your symptoms sound mild.  I realize it may not feel that way because it's happening to you, and I'm not trying to minimize what you're going through.  Hppd can be debilitating and it sounds like you're doing pretty well.  Stay clear of psychedelics and cannabis.  Try not to put too much focus on the symptoms you're experiencing.  Instead, focus on your daily tasks, challenges, and fun.  

Take care of yourself, and hang in there.

• Like 2

MadDoc has covered it well there. the majority of people who sign up on here tend to stop posting after a couple of months, which suggests that most cases of hppd heal after a while (this is backed up with anecdotal evidence from speaking to people via PM here). Try not to stress about it for now. I wouldn't even read up too much about it. Just eat well, excercise, take your mind off it any way you can.