5 Years - It Gets Better

Hello everyone! It's my first time posting here, something I never anticipated doing. But I've written something that I wanted to share with all of you. It's a bit of a longer read because I wanted to mark my 5-year 'anniversary' with something that truly reflects my experiences. I've crafted it in a way that I hope can also be helpful to you, with tips on how I transitioned from merely 'surviving' to truly 'living' over the last five years of grappling with illness. Hope you find it worthwhile!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I didn't anticipate wanting to mark the passage of these five years. If someone had told me not so long ago that I'd be commemorating the half-decade anniversary of my mental health struggles, it wouldn't have made sense to me at all. As the fifth year of my illness approaches, I find myself not in mourning, but in a peculiar state of celebration—a celebration of survival, of life, of knowledge gained. As such, in this passage I don't offer lament, but rather an acknowledgement and celebration of the tumultuous journey of the last five years.

Five years ago, I awoke to an unwelcome reality. Despite the anticipation of a budding relationship, an exciting trip to India, and the joy of my university, I found myself, from one moment to the other, dropping out of university, retreating to my parent's home, engulfed in tears, for I had become sick. Days turned into weeks, weeks into months, as my reality became increasingly alien to me, nervous breakdowns, anxiety and depression, relentless and unyielding, became the backdrop to my existence. I waited, day after day, yearning for my promised reality to return. The symphony of life, once harmonious, now played dissonant notes. I was drowning in the depths of my shattered mental health.