Depression while symptoms improve

Hi I'm new here so I don't know if I'm posting in the right spot but whatever. I've had light to mild hppd for about 8 months now. I uses to be seriously fucked up during the summer time after I graduated 8th grade. I had severe dp/dr, intense brain fog and horrible hppd. Since then my depersonalization has gone away completely, my brain fog is 100% gone and my hppd has definitely improved. I have so much to be happy for but for some reason I'm very depressed. It's basically like the minute I think about my symptoms my brain stops sending out dopamine or something, I automatically think everything is getting worse, but its not. I'm not usually depressed when I'm not thinking about my symptoms but lately I've been feeling down when I'm not thinking about them. It's like I mentally can't take it anymore but there's nothing to be depressed about. Can anyone relate?

• Upvote 3

This may be a deficiency in dopamine, or serotonin, and most likely a passing phase. How long have you been experiencing this depression? Be thankful! Depression is one of the more easy problems to fix, I'm happy that your DR/DP has gone away, if it coupled with Depression, it would be completely devastating. I know of some guys that have DR and Depression, and unfortunately, they're not wanting to live. I'm envious of you to be honest. 

• Upvote 1

Thanks wooshka I've been experiencing it off and on for a while now but now it's just constant. It's been constant for about a month and a half and its starting to change my personality. Ya I remember how bad dp was I'm very lucky there not combined. Thanks for the reply

• Upvote 1

No problem, do you have any quarrels with trying an SSRI? Or do you have the worry that it may exacerbate your symptoms? Maybe Wellbutrin is up your alley for helping you cope with your depression. When you say it's changing your personality, what do you mean? In what ways exactly?

• Upvote 1