Ghosting - Question about Medications

The double-vision / ghosting which I get is by far my most annoying symptom. It is vertical ghosting. If I go close enough to the object/light source it will disappear, but I have to go really close for this to happen, and so when I am reading text of a computer screen I constantly see double. I can manipulate it by squinting - the more I squint the more prominent it becomes. Under certain conditions / if I squint enough I will see triple.

I am new to all this so I haven't tried any medications, as of yet. Someone over at the VS forum reported an improvement with diazepam: http://thosewithvisualsnow.yuku.com/topic/7123/diazepam-and-other-benzo-s#.TzlSRbRA1UM - however, I think the I don't think this is a viable long-term solution.

I have attached a couple of examples of what I see.

post-904-0-64162800-1329156560_thumb.jpg

post-904-0-65095200-1329156589_thumb.jpg

Thanks for the pictures. For me, there are multiple overlapping images in one eye. The other is not so bad as to notice unless looking for the problem.

The 'blur' version is illustrated in this picture from a member on DPSelfHelp.com.

dpmoon.jpg

The effects I get with the good eye are about as severe as the 2nd moon. The bad eye is more like the third moon. When initially looking at the moon, I see the first (normal) moon. But in the course of a few seconds these blurs develop - each pattern unique to each eye. The patterns match the 'multiple overlaping images' as well - so obviously related.

A few times this has cleared up briefly - along with derealization. The first time was trying Keppra. The second was extreme heat with hydrocodone.

I can't say I can notice any difference in either eye - seems to be about the same. The moon looks normal to me first as well, before this ghosting develops. Only for a split second, though. At times I have also seen a rainbow contained within a halo when looking at the moon, similar, but not quite as prominent, to this: