A mild success story, but looking for more

buccosfan2004

Hey guys --

My story, real quick --

- "Good" kid, didn't do a lot of drugs -- basically none beyond pot

- When I was 20, junior year of college, my roommates got real into LCD -- I tried it a few times -- the first time I did it, I took three hits because I was an idiot -- started tripping balls, the whole thing

- And then - DUN DUN DUN! - it never went away. Trails, severe/crippling depression, visuals all fucked up, etc. I spent a little time online, discovered I had HPPD, read stories about people going insane and I had a breakdown, basically

- But, I NEVER told anyone. I was embarrassed and ashamed. I white-knuckled it through class, around family, around friends. 

- After graduation, I moved to NYC and started drinking heavily. Soon after, cocaine heavily. Booze eased the anxiety, cocaine made me talkative and feel alive again. This is around 2006.

Now, 2013, my life is not terrible.

I'm a successful writer. I write children's fiction and non-fiction. I have an absolutely wonderful fiance (who knows nothing of my HPPD). My family knows nothing of my HPPD. I had one girlfriend who I told in 2008 or so, she got me to a doctor, she got my brain examined, I found out there was nothing wrong with my brain (what a relief!) etc.

I take clonazepan - 1mg daily. I took prozac for a while, but stopped -- I was sick of the weight I put on, sick of not knowing why I was feeling what I was feeling, sick of feeling sort of numb.

So I wanted to say this -- I HAVE HPPD, I STRUGGLED HORRIBLY, I WHITE-KNUCKLED IT, AND NOW I LIVE A RELATIVELY NORMAL LIFE, I HAVE MY DREAM JOB - THIS SHIT DOESN'T HAVE TO END YOU!

Here is where I struggle though, and I struggle everyday:

- My life would have been better. It should have been better. It should have been a wonderful life -- instead, it's a passable life. And I have no one to blame but myself and the unlucky brain chemistry that lead to this situation.