Six-Year Anniversary

A few days ago was my sixth anniversary of getting HPPD. Crazy to think I've been making this post every year for the last six years. As I noted in my Five-Year Anniversary post my life has changed in ways I could have never imagined. The past calendar year has been the craziest of my life and I'm sure many feel that same way due to Covid. I did want to post a quick update as I've had a bit of a setback with my symptoms...

Long story short I had to take two courses of antibiotics in February and then had a major allergic reaction to a cosmetic product I used for a few weeks which left me in the worst state I've been in for quite some time, probably three years or so. I suffered exposure to mold in 2019 and had a major reoccurrence of symptoms for about four to six months but eventually got over that. This recent episode was worse however and illustrates the fragility of the brain post-HPPD. I guess this is my major takeaway after six years of dealing with this condition and essentially achieving close to a full recovery: Once you've gotten HPPD your brain is compromised from there on out. Yes full recoveries are totally possible and I truly believe as long as you live a healthy lifestyle immediately following HPPD and don't do drugs that most people can get there with a lot of hard work; however it's just really important to keep in mind that once your brain suffers a serious injury it's going to create antibodies and an entire defense system that will react similarly down the road to anything it perceives as a threat. I've mentioned before that I think there's some aspect of autoimmunity to HPPD and I think this is why. Once the body encounters a threat to the system it mounts an entire strategy of defense for future threat of a similar variety. This is why you can't do drugs after you get HPPD, nor can you ingest toxins or suffer other diseases without having a major setback.