SSRI, less chanse of remission?

So, i got HPPD from a couple of hits of cannabis 4 weeks ago which have pretty much ruined my life because of the crippling anxiety, blurry/static vision and slight dr. Anyhow, i read that Abraham said that around 50% makes a spontaneous remission within the first months, which i pray for! But i wonder, do you think that the use of SSRI (Citalopram) will lower the chanses of this? I've been on 20 mg daily for 13 years.

I also take 10 mg of Oxazepam daily now to relieve some of the symptoms and make this nightmare more managable. 

Edited by Hall89

Hello, 

I'm sorry to hear that you are struggling with this disorder.  I am not a doctor but I have been on an SSRI for years and had very good success with remission of symptoms.  To me, what makes sense is for you to not change anything and just give it time (again I am not a doctor).    I tell everyone the same simple advice that worked for me early on:

• Stop all drugs (even alcohol for a but if you can) 
  • Get as much sleep as you can 
  • Exercise regularly even if it makes your symptoms worse
  • Eat well 
  • Stay busy with work/ school/ hobby etc
  • Try not to worry 

Anxiety will typically exacerbate symptoms so try and minimize this if you can, take a walk, learn to meditate, do something you enjoy.  You don't have brain damage, you can recover.  I am a 3rd year mathematics PhD student and doing well and I have a long history of psychedelic abuse.  If I can recover you can too! Hang in there buddy and keep reaching out but don't let HPPD dominate your thinking. 

Take Care,

Nick 

• Thanks 1

Thanks for your answer! Glad to hear that your symotoms have decreased, which if i may ask? Have the s/blurry vision cleared up?